Chief Executive of Charities Regulatory Authority Appointed

Posted in Other, Our Blog

The first Chief Executive of the new Charities Regulatory Authority to be established under the Charities Act of 2009  is to be Ms. Úna Ní Dhubhghaill as designated by the Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence, Alan Shatter, TD.

The new Charities Regulatory Authority will have the following functions, as set out in the Charities Act:

· increase public trust and confidence in the management and administration of charitable trusts and charitable organisations;

· promote compliance by charity trustees with their duties in the control and management of charitable trusts and charitable organisations;

· promote the effective use of the property of charitable trusts or charitable organisations;

· ensure the accountability of charitable organisations to donors and beneficiaries of charitable gifts, and the public;

· promote understanding of the requirement that charitable purposes confer a public benefit;

· establish and maintain a register of charitable organisations;

· ensure and monitor compliance by charitable organisations with this Act;

· carry out investigations in accordance with this Act;

· encourage and facilitate the better administration and management of charitable organisations by the provision of information or advice, including in particular by way of issuing (or, as it considers appropriate, approving) guidelines, codes of conduct, and model constitutional documents;

· carry on such activities or publish such information (including statistical information) concerning charitable organisations and trusts as it considers appropriate;

· provide information (including statistical information) or advice, or make proposals, to the Minister on matters relating to the functions of the Authority.

One of the first tasks for the Authority will be the development and publication of a Register of Charities under the terms of the Charities Act.

In addition to the Chief Executive, an initial staff of ten is to be assigned to the Authority from within the existing staff of the Department of Justice and Equality.

Leave a Reply